Showing posts with label Food for Thought. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Food for Thought. Show all posts

Thursday, September 1, 2011

Flash of genius, unrecorded...

I'm exaggerating...It's not a flash of genius lol.  I'm just talking about outfits I wear on a daily basis that I love.

There are times when I feel like I should've taken a pic and didn't. boo.

There are girls that I know of that recorded their 'OOTD's like clockwork, meanwhile i always forget.

Why me..

Monday, September 27, 2010

Food For Thought#3: 'Real or Fake'?

I was at the mall yesterday with the familia, as with most of my sundays and ventured off on my own to browse and maybe run a few errands.  I walked into Off the Wall on a whim, thinking maybe I'll find some nice basics (as I usually do there) to buy for my up-coming trip to Vegas, or at least get ideas on what to bring from my own closet.

A salesperson approached me--a guy, and while this isn't really relevant in most stories, because of what he asked me as a starter conversation it does become relevant.  He says hello, like any polite salesperson does, and of course I aknowledge with a smile and nod then walk on.  He continues to try his chit-chat skills on me by proceeding to ask how my day has been so far, to which I respond with the obligatory 'fine'  standard answer and smile--and continue on walking.

Then he asked that oh-so-sensitive thing that most women (albiet I wasn't offended) would have men dare not ask....'Is your bag real?"  In my head I think, WTF? Did this guy just asked me if my Louis Vuitton Bag is real!?  That's like asking a woman what her true age is! lol.

While I took it in good stride and responded 'Yes..' he continued to dig himself an even bigger hole with '..oh well it's hard to tell most days with girls you know, but you're bag looks nice though!'

uhh...ok buddy.

The point to this story isn't that I got offended.  Because I wasn't--maybe because my bag is real lol.  Guys should be aware that this is one of those hot-button issues that some women may find offensive to be asked--and vice versa.  I'm really generalizing because while I don't find it offensive, there are those that may not feel the same way I do.  I know some women who turn all squinty-frow when people insinuate that their boobs may not be all real or that their hair colour is a dye-job.  It's basically like asking women what their real age is (as i previously mentioned) or if their boobs are real.


Some things should just stay off the dinner table conversation.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Food for thought #2: Heidi Montag and 'The price of Beauty'.

I recently saw another pic of the buxom, mostly altered Heidi Montag on one of MTV's updates on my facebook...



When she first revealed the results of 10 surgeries within a short time-frame, it certainly freaked the heck out of me that she even considered that many procedures let alone actually going through with them.  She barely looks like the same person she once was...I personally think she looked way better before the alterations.

What would make someone do cosmetic alterations at such a young age?

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Food for thought #1: skin care up in smoke

I think that when it comes to skin care, there are many women (even men) that are more finicky and consistent with their regimen than I am.  I admit, while clean and healthy skin is a priority of mine, I don't always rush to the closest drugstore or aesthetician for the latest cosmetic fix or facial treatment.

I know that having healthy and youthful skin is important, but in my mind, ageing gracefully without any articifical enhancements and surgeries is also important.  That, and I usually get lazy lol.

I don't spend thousands of dollars on serums and creams, but I do realize and keep in mind the importance of taking care of my skin and doing preventative maintenance.  I do the regular care of cleaning my skin of impurities and making sure that I sleep soundly without any trace of makeup left in my skin. 

I should say that I'm not without days where I'd pass out after a late night of clubbing and had forgotten to wash my face! 

Trust me, lol It's not a pretty sight to wake up in the morning and find your pillow case looking like the shroud of turin and find an ugly, hot mess when you look yourself in the mirror haha.  Racoon eyes are not pretty!  Most nights, I do try to keep myself as regular with my facial regimen as I do about my morning multi-grain breakfast! =)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...